12 Dec 2016
500 times

n line with efforts to pursue Government of Ghana’s policy of bridging the gap between Ghanaians in the Diaspora and Ghana’s Embassies abroad, and the Mission’s commitment to bring service delivery to the door step of Ghanaians in South Africa and other countries of concurrent accreditation, a delegation headed by Mr. Edward Cofie, Head of the Consular Section, travelled to Botswana on 18th to 20th November, 2016 and Gabon from 25th to 30th November 2016, to capture the biometric impressions of Ghanaians resident in those countries, with the aim of helping them to renew their lost or expired passports without having to travel to Ghana for that purpose.

During the exercise, most of the Ghanaians expressed joy and satisfaction at the decision and thoughtfulness of the Mission to come to them. They expressed hope that this initiative would be continued to save Ghanaians who need that service the ordeal of having to travel from their respective countries to Ghana or South Africa to access the service. They noted that they had been spared the time, as well as the cost implications associated with the travels.

           Other members of the Mission’s delegation to Botswana and Gabon were, Mr. Felix Nyarku, Head of Chancery; Mr Percy Nathan Swanzy, Protocol and Consular Officer; and Mr. Alfred Quarshie Mensah, IT officer.

           The same delegation had also visited Cape Town for the second time this year, on 4th November, 2016, to undertake a similar exercise.

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Postal Address

P.O. Box 12537
Hatfield, Pretoria,0083
Tel:+27 12 342 5847/8
Fax:+27 12 342 5863

Physical Address

1038 Arcadia Street
Hatfield, Pretoria,0083

Consular Working Hours

Monday - Thursday Submission: 09h00 - 12h00
Monday - Thursday Collection: 13h00 - 14h00

ETC Monday - Thursday 09h00 - 12h00

The Consular Office is closed on Fridays and on Public Holidays as specified above.

Mission Working Hours

Weekdays: Monday - Friday 
Time: 09h00 - 15h00

The Mission is closed on Public Holidays of the Republics of South Africa and Ghana.